Date of Award:
Master of Science (MS)
Economics and Finance
Joseph A. Geddes
Richmond lies on a rise of ground near the Wasatch range in the east central part of Cache Valley. In 1855 John Bair led a small party to the vicinity of Richmond to explore it. Four years later (1859) they returned and established homes. The community grew quite rapidly. In 1860 when Jesse V. fox, territorial surveyor, made the first survey, 104 people claimed land. The first public building was a combination church and school house. A ditch connected with High Creek was built in q860. In 1868 the village was incorporated with W. D. Hendricks as the first mayor.
McCarrey, Rulon S., "A Town Library in Action (A Study of the Town Library as a Social Institution in Richmond, Utah, March 1939)" (1941). All Graduate Theses and Dissertations. 3758.
Copyright for this work is retained by the student. If you have any questions regarding the inclusion of this work in the Digital Commons, please email us at .