All Music Department Programs



Download Full Text (1.6 MB)


Madeline Adkins, in September 2016, assumed her new post as Concertmaster of Utah Symphony under Maestro Thierry Fischer. She made her concerto debut with Utah Symphony in November 2016, performing Prokofiev's Violin Concerto No. 2. Prior to this, Adkins was the Associate Concertmaster of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. She was appointed by Maestro Yuri Temirkanov in 2005, after joining the orchestra as Assistant Concertmaster in 2000. Adkins appeared semi-annually as soloist with the BSO, and performed over 25 works with the orchestra including pieces by Beethoven, Sarasate, Vaughan Williams, Bach, Mendelssohn, Mozart, Prokofiev, Vivaldi, Bruch, Saint-Saens, and Arvo Part. She has served as guest concertmaster of the Hong Kong Philharmonic, the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, the Oregon Symphony, and the Grant Park Symphony Orchestra in Chicago, where she was featured in Beethoven's Missa So/emnis. The daughter of noted musicologists, Adkins is the youngest of eight children, six of whom are professional musicians. The siblings, who include titled players in the National, Dallas, and Houston symphonies, joined together to form the Adkins String Ensemble. She performed on viola and violin with this unique chamber ensemble for over 15 years, and the group has made numerous recordings, including Schoenberg's Verklorte Nacht. Adkins received her Bachelor's summa cum laude from the University of North Texas and her Master's degree from the New England Conservatory where she studied with James Buswell. Adkins performs on a 1753 Guadagnini graciously loaned to her by conductor Marin Alsop, as well as a violin crafted in 1987 by Brooklyn maker Samuel Zygmuntowicz.


Caine Performance Hall, USU Campus


Divertimento for Strings in D Major, K.136 - Mozart; Battalia - Biber; St. Paul's Suite for String Orchestra - Holst; Serenade in C Major for Strings, Opus 48 - Tchaikovsky

Performance Date



USU Symphony


Chamber Orchestra, Utah Symphony, January, performance



Utah Symphony Chamber Orchestra

Included in

Music Commons