Document Type


Publication Date



This Flood Insurance Study revises and updates information on the existence and severity of flood hazards in the geographic area of Salt Lake County, including the Cities of Bluffdale, Draper, Holladay, Midvale, Murray, Riverton, Salt Lake City, Sandy City, South Jordan, South Salt Lake, Taylorsville, West Jordan, and West Valley City; the Towns of Alta and Herriman; and the unincorporated areas of Salt Lake County (referred to collectively herein as Salt Lake County), and aids in the administration of the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968 and the Flood Disaster Protection Act of 1973. This study has developed flood-risk data for various areas of the community that will be used to establish actuarial flood insurance rates and to assist the community in its efforts to promote sound floodplain management. Minimum floodplain management requirements for participation in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) are set forth in the Code of Federal Regulations at 44 CFR, 60.3. Please note that the Town of Alta is non-floodprone.


Flood Insurance Study for community #490251 (Salt Lake County, Utah, and Incorporated Areas) 2002.