Document Type


Publication Date



By special agreement as provided under 40 CFR § 1501.6 and § 1508.5, the National Park Service (NPS), the lead agency in this Environmental Impact Statement (EIS), has collaborated with nine cooperating agencies in the EIS process: the U.S. Forest Service; the States of Idaho, Montana, and Wyoming; and the Counties of Gallatin and Park, Montana, Park and Teton, Wyoming, and Fremont, Idaho. The Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ) regulations for implementing National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) define a cooperating agency as any agency that has jurisdiction by law or, in this case, special expertise for proposals covered by NEPA. See Chapter I for further discussion of cooperating agency involvement and their identified areas of experitse. The Memorandums of Agreement for all agencies were published in the Draft Environmental Impact Statement (DEIS), Volume II, Appendix I.


Sudocs call # I 29.79/6:Y 3/2/V.2